Wingrove House

(31 recensioner)
High Street, Alfriston, East Sussex, BN26 5TD
Modernt Brittiskt

Öppettider

Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 20:00.

Beskrivning

An elegant 19th century colonial-style country house with stunning hotel rooms, restaurant, lounge and terrace areas, Wingrove House is set in the beautiful and historic East Sussex village of Alfriston. Offering modern British cuisine, the restaurant has a bright and spacious feel with beautiful views over to the village church on the Tye.

Wingrove House serves traditional Sunday lunches and stunningly presented dinners created by a team led by the highly experienced Executive Chef Mathew Comben. Enjoy delectable dishes like braised venison in Longman ale, pan fried of seabass with curried crab or wild mushroom with winter vegetable pie, all made with fresh, seasonal ingredients sourced from Sussex’s finest producers.

The tempting selection of desserts includes warm ginger sponge with rum toffee sauce and rich chocolate delice with passion fruit sorbet. For an overnight or weekend stay, Wingrove House offers excellent accommodation.

Wingrove House Alfriston is a great starting point for picturesque walks and meandering cycle rides through the East Sussex countryside. It is easily accessible from the A27 and is a 9-minute drive from Polegate and Seaford Rail Stations.

Gästrecensioner för Wingrove House
4,1
(baserat på 31 recensioner)

87%
av gästerna rekommenderar den här restaurangen

  • Mat
  • Drycker
  • Atmosfär
  • Service
  • Prisvärd
  • Läge

Rekommenderas för

  • fika (6)
  • utomhusservering (7)
  • frukost (4)
  • affärssammanhang (1)
  • middag (20)
  • lunch (16)
  • exklusivt (5)
  • sällskap (5)
  • romantiskt (9)
  • trendigt (2)
  • prisvärt (4)
  • utsikt (4)
  • Av Denise M från Lewes
    4 januari 2020

    Always a lovely dining experience at the Wingrove

  • Av Martin W från Peacehaven
    22 december 2019

    We had Sunday Lunch on 22/12/19. The food was excellent from the wild mushroom soup, smoked salmon as starters through the mains of pheasant breast and pan fried sea bass to the desserts of warm ginger sponge with rum butterscotch sauce and the Christmas pudding. The menu was varied and catered for all tastes and the drinks menu was broad and suited our tastes and requirements for a single glass of wine and a soft drink. The staff were very pleasant and attentive though not over bearing. It was a pity that there were not more diners as the ambience and decor of the dining room was smart and tastefully decorated for the season.

  • Av Alan M från Polegate
    24 november 2019

    Very disappointing meal overall.

  • Av carolyn B från Hailsham
    22 november 2019

    We visited on a Friday night and it was extremely quiet probably about 6 tables occupied.Four of us had a drink in the bar first of all, the bill was £33.00,Overall the food was satisfactory. I had Venison which was beautifully cooked , some of the guests had pheasant, which unfortunately was overcooked. This was brought to the attention of the very charming waiter. Some of the guests , there were 8 of us in total, wanted bread, which had to be ordered and did not come complimentary. we did have wine as well with the meal but the bill was £500 . We were charged £16.00 for bread !!!!! absolutely ridiculous !!!!!!!!!!

  • Av Sarah M från Seaford
    3 november 2019

    Enjoyed a gorgeous family Sunday lunch last weekend, fantastic food and great service. Would highly recommend!

  • Av Julia K från London
    29 oktober 2019

    Good food and attentive service.

  • Av Bernadette J från Birmingham
    27 oktober 2019

    We booked Sunday lunch was visiting my sister. The staff and the food were excellent and we would certainly not hesitate to book again when we are in the area again. Very easy to book online.

  • Av Romy S från Reading
    24 oktober 2019

    Excellent food and wine. Good service. Great ambience. Perfect for celebration meal

  • Av Sandie H från Eastbourne
    4 oktober 2019

    A lovely evening - spacious tables with ambient lighting creates a relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable chairs too. Good menu to select from. We were not greeted when we arrived and had to catch a member of the team to order drinks etc

  • Av Leanne C från Hailsham
    16 augusti 2019

    We have dined at the Wingrove on many occasions and have always been very pleased however the lunch we had recently was not up to the usual standard and was disappointing. The quality of the food was not great and the larger bites menu was limited. Staff however were very friendly and accommodating.

Restaurant Location Map
Wingrove House
High Street, Alfriston, East Sussex, BN26 5TD

Liknande Restauranger

  1. The Dining Room at Deans Place Hotel

    The Dining Room at Deans Place Hotel

    Internationellt
    (20 recensioner)
    159m
    The Dining Room at Deans Place Hotel
  2. Plough & Harrow

    Plough & Harrow

    Brittiskt
    (42 recensioner)
    1.3km
    Plough & Harrow
  3. The Cuckmere Inn

    The Cuckmere Inn

    Brittiskt
    (49 recensioner)
    3.7km
    The Cuckmere Inn
  4. Harvester - Horse & Groom

    Harvester - Horse & Groom

    Brittiskt
    (27 recensioner)
    6.1km
    Harvester - Horse & Groom
  5. The Garden Restaurant

    The Garden Restaurant

    Brittiskt
    (243 recensioner)
    10.2km
    The Garden Restaurant