Recensioner för The Star Inn - Sparsholt

4.6
(baserat på 226 recensioner)
Watery Lane Sparsholt, Wantage, South East England, OX12 9PL
226 recensioner
Sortera efter: nyaste
  • Av Joanna E från Lechlade
    4 november 2020

    Delicious food we loved the nduja croquettes, the cured salmon and crumpet and baked hens eggs but all was fabulous and service attentive.

  • Av Kirsty W från Walton-on-Thames
    4 november 2020

    We had such a lovely time at The Star Inn last week. Looked after extremely well, with covid-care well considered. If is a gorgeous venue with a super garden. Freshly prepared delicious food too. All round I would thoroughly recommend this wonderful gem set in gorgeous surrounds.

  • Av George H från wantage
    2 november 2020

    An amazing meal we managed to squeeze in before lockdown 2. The venison was stunning, the chicken beautifully cooked and the service was attentive and friendly. We have been a few times and the standard is always A+

  • Av Stuart K från Lambourn
    31 oktober 2020

    Excellent food, service and ambience. I’ll come again.

  • Av M B från Wantage
    31 oktober 2020

    Usually dine here and love it - especially the new silk tent. We met up with some friends and had recommended The Star from our usual pleasant experience, however, we were placed on a table that was a sofa and a small lower table (more suitable for drinks). When asked if we could have a table and chairs to sit at to have our actual dinner we were told that all the other tables were fully booked. As expected, we were disappointed and felt that we didn’t want to order a fillet steak to eat it off our laps or sit on the floor to be low enough to eat it off the table, so we left. It was a shame as we had booked a week before and didn’t expect to get a bar table. Food is usually amazing as well as the atmosphere but felt disappointed last night. Maybe better to state that you want an actual table? Although I did think that booking a table for 7pm it would be expected.

  • Av Philip W från Oxford
    30 oktober 2020

    Lovely food. Shame about the ambiance. A bit cold and uninviting. Manager didn’t wear his mask correctly

  • Av Gerard M från England
    28 oktober 2020

    Excellent meal. Good service

  • Av Bryony K från Oxfordshire
    28 oktober 2020

    Always great food and service, backed up by good C-19 social distancing measures. I had the sausage and mash, which was lovely on a wet, cold day. Colleague had the burger, which he said was delicious. Wonderful coffee!

  • Av David K från Lambourn
    28 oktober 2020

    We had three courses could not fault it .....delicious! The mackerel starter was amazing.

  • Av Elizabeth D från Oxford
    27 oktober 2020

    The food was nice, particularly the venison, though rather on the expensive side. However, the entire evening was let down by the very cold atmosphere in the pub - both temperature and ambiance. The heating was put on after we complained that it was cold and the radiator adjacent to our table did warm up slightly. I noticed other customers resorting to sitting with their coats on. I am sure that atmosphere would improve if the lighting levels were increased - sitting in the cold in semi darkness is not conducive to an enjoyable evening. We are living in very challenging times at present and the hospitality industry has been particularly affected. However, other establishments have managed to create a lovely, warm, happy atmosphere which also complies with the current regulations. Its unfortunate that The Star Inn has not been able to or at least was unable to on the night we visited.