Guide MICHELIN 2020

Recensioner för Sorrel

4.8
(baserat på 751 recensioner)
77 South Street, Dorking, South East England, RH4 2JU
751 recensioner
Sortera efter: nyaste
  • Av Jeremy H från Dorking
    4 november 2020

    This visit to Sorrel was our third and undoubtedly the best. Our last previous visit was disappointing, both as to service and the food. I don't know what had gone wrong that night. However this time it was everything we could expect from a Michelin-starred restaurant. We had excellent service from everyone; the receptionist, the sommelier and our waiter. We had booked a slot very early in the evening and I'd recommend that; the restaurant is quite large and can become a bit noisy when it fills up. There was a fixed menu because of the COVID restrictions - by a lucky accident we had booked for the last evening before lockdown. The menu was their Taster menu which had seven courses plus a couple of bonus ones which arrived as a starter and a cheese course. Every course was tiny but fantastically ingenious, beautifully thought out and presented, and justified eating very slowly to catch all the flavours. It was an entirely satisfying meal, full of creative ideas which would be far too difficult to cook at home even if you knew how. We had an absolutely first class experience and although far from cheap the price is not ridiculous; and we would certainly recommend it for a very special experience.

  • Av Jef L från Middleton on Sea
    4 november 2020

    A quite excellent 3 course meal with good Chardonnay wine with exemplary service

  • Av David D från London
    4 november 2020

    Overall an excellent experience. Had the regular lunch menu - all three courses well prepared and of a high standard. The bits n bobs also very good. Lovely space, friendly and relaxed service, not over-attentive. Small areas to consider: make the two single cubicle loos (one marked M, the other F) unisex - this is the future and it’s pointless having to wait in the regularly used, narrow corridor when the loo for the other sex is vacant. We men are all fully house trained these days! And look at the washing and drying of the champagne flutes - neither our nor the tables around us champagne or sparkling wine (both) were very effervescent at all in the glass. The bottle for our Veuve Fournay was relatively fresh and poured bubbly so wasn’t that. I know and drink the marque: it’s not a low effervescence champagne. Which leaves residual matter in the glass as the likely issue. Finally, maybe some greater non-full bottle wine options than just a few 125s? - 375, 500 carafes: more convivial for two.

  • Av Graham C från Dorking
    4 november 2020

    All excellent, although maybe the extra cheese course we had wasn’t quite up to the standard of the rest of the meal? It didn’t have great visual appeal, although there were some fine flavours. This isn’t really a criticism more an observation!

  • Av Naomi G från Kingston Upon Thames
    4 november 2020

    Lovely evening and a really special meal. Staff friendly and food exceptional.

  • Av Elisa D från Dorking
    4 november 2020

    Good experience. Wonderful flavours. Good service. Tiny portions but lots of stuff not ordered included. Nice wine but only small amounts when ordered by glass. Good to have vegetarian menu.. Fairly expensive but lovely for special occasions.

  • Av Theresa B från Reigate
    4 november 2020

    We had a wonderful meal. Everything was excellent: the service; the quality of the ingredients; the presentation; the creativity of the dishes; the wine; and the ambiance.

  • Av Jennifer S från Dorking
    3 november 2020

    Just wonderful.. loved every course but love love loved the scallop and the pumpkin and the curry meringue.. I could go on!!

  • Av Charles L från West Horsley
    3 november 2020

    Fabulous - Steve a very gifted chef

  • Av William T från West Horsley
    3 november 2020

    Simply superb. Cannot understand why it took us so long to get to Sorrel. Will return often and hopefully soon after lockdown 2.