Guide MICHELIN 2020

Recensioner för Adam Reid at The French

4.6
(baserat på 899 recensioner)
The Midland Hotel, Peter Street, Manchester, North West England, M60 2DS
899 recensioner
Sortera efter: nyaste
  • Av Martin R från Knutsford Cheshire
    4 november 2020

    First class dining experience from start to finish.

  • Av Bruce K från MANCHESTER
    3 november 2020

    This was our second visit to The French and we have thoroughly enjoyed both. The food was absolutely outstanding and the service was perfect too, not too much interaction, just enough. Personally, my favourite dish was the Kale with horseradish.

  • Av Kellie G från Manchester
    29 oktober 2020

    We initially ate here when it first opened, and returned for my husband's birthday as he maintains it's the best meal he's ever had. It really should have a michelin star, we've eaten in quite few 1 and 2 star restaurants, including Midsummer House in August but I much prefer The French. The food was exquisite, bursting with flavour but what I think sets it apart from other similar restaurants is the lack of pretentiousness; there's a really relaxed feel to the room and the waiting staff are excellent; polite and on the ball but with real personality. One small pointer; it would have been nice if they'd taken our coats but maybe that's not allowed within Covid guidelines? Outstanding food in beautiful surroundings with a great atmosphere and service that was on-point.

  • Av Chris B från Manchester
    28 oktober 2020

    Brilliant in all aspects, every bite of food was awesome, the service second to none and the decor and ambience perfect. Worth every penny

  • Av S M från Manchester
    28 oktober 2020

    Our third visit. Absolutely wonderful

  • Av catherine W från Manchester
    24 oktober 2020

    Excellent from the opulent surroundings, attentive staff and delicious food. Every element of each dish worked perfectly with each other, making it a very delicious and enjoyable experience.

  • Av Paul R från Dronfield
    24 oktober 2020

    Top quality and nice for the chef patron to present one of the courses at our table. Shame about the masks but I guess we blame Boris for this!

  • Av Carl B från Manchester
    23 oktober 2020

    We loved the lighting, music ambiance etc. This combined with the friendly staff made for an great atmosphere. We had the red and the white wine, both were great, I had the zeitgeist I think and it was really good and complimented the food. The cold cuts course was one of my favourites, unbelievable flavours from the meat, cheese and the pickles. The butter and breads were special too. Other favourite courses were the tater ash on toast canapés, presentation both on the plate and from the chef who was engaging and made it a fun experience and flavours were incredible. I really enjoyed the halibut, I prefer the sauce to be on the fish when it comes out. But the dish was beautiful. I can imagine the textures of this might not be for everyone but I loved it! The meat course was also amazing, the ragu had great flavours and texture. The apple dessert was also one of my favourites, the egg custard flavours with the snap of the pastry and the delicate apple was epic, a great take on an apple dessert! Reminded me of strudel. Great coffee and petit fours too, the delicate cake was yum and I enjoyed the truffle with the nibs. Loved the vibe in general and crockery and all of the team were brilliant and made us instantly comfortable. Thank you all for a great experience!

  • Av Janet S från Manchester
    21 oktober 2020

    The food was outstanding and the service impeccable! Laid back atmosphere with great music playing too. We will definitely be going back and would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Av Gillian B från Manchester
    21 oktober 2020

    The food here is amazing and whilst it is expensive it is a different level of cooking than most restaurants we visit. Every dish had so much flavour and perfectly balanced. Service was excellent and a welcome birthday treat for my husband amidst all the gloom. Just a shame to see the Midland Hotel and the City so quiet